Winds of Change: Days 33 and 34

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to the three addictions that have controlled my life. And lately I’ve been distracted from my work and suffered from mental fatigue. I would’ve liked to convey my thoughts and feelings to you in a poem, but the verse escapes me. So, I decided to draw a picture of how oppressed I felt for the last two to three weeks. The pic will be posted up soon.

So, yeah, I’m just feeling a little down tonight.

Connecting with God

After some soul searching this afternoon (which always involves prayer), I realised that ever since I was a teenager and especially when I began fighting this battle in the 10th grade, I wanted to connect with God in nature. The only way I saw this happening is if I went off to a remote location renting a chalet or cottage or house somewhere in the middle of nowhere.

But, I had no tangible measure of such remoteness. That is, until I discovered that there is nothing sinful about being naked. God created us naked. But, as in all things He requires us to exercise moderation, temperance, self-control. And He regards public nudity as a shameful thing and breaching, what I call, the gender barrier. So, now when I look for remote locations, I always ask myself “Can I freely roam around naked outside?” If I can’t I don’t won’t plan on going there for a solo retreat to spend time with God.

The moments I spent by the window at night are sort of a promise that one day I will go away to a remote location on my own so that I can spend quality time with God. Of course, I don’t have to go away to spend quality time with my God, but I want to commune with Him in a natural setting as I dreamed about since my childhood.

I would be lying to you if I didn’t admit that I planned on spending some time naked inside and outside the house, but that’s not the point of the retreat and it won’t be for extended periods of time as I firmly believe in moderation. In so doing I hope to get a glimpse of what it must’ve been like for Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden.

Does nudity play a role in your life? If so, what role does it play?

Leave a Reply

