I’m writing out of frustration. I would like to write a beautiful, well-crafted post on superheroes, the stuff I learned in South Korea and other things, but I’m too worked up.

A friend of mine recently has a kind of break down. He’s extremely lonely although he has way more friends than me. He is looking for a husband. That’s right. he’s gay. I advised him as best I can because of two things: (1) I’ve never had a girlfriend before (yes, I’m straight; not bi; not bi curious; I’m as straight as an arrow), and (2) based on my morals and values I can’t encourage him to pursue that course. So, all I said was that he should rather focus on and be grateful for the people in his life and trust God to send him a spouse at the right time.

He didn’t reply. I then e-mailed him to hear how he’s doing and he updated me. To this I replied, “Cool buddy :D.” A couple of days later I e-mailed him again to hear how he’s doing and tell him what’s going on in my life. And I’m still waiting for a response.

I don’t know how to handle emotional situations very well especially such situations where someone declares there deepest need. It unsettles me as I don’t know how to respond. Now I fear that I might have said something or didn’t respond in a helpful way. The guy’s my friend and I don’t have many friends. I have a lot of acquaintances but not many friends. And I value my friendships. So, what should I do? What would you have done?

Not good with emotional situations

Leave a Reply

